Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Policy Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

State Executive Committee

The State Executive Committee (SEC), appointed by the Commissioner of the Texas Education Agency, is composed of eight school administrators, representing each of the four geographical regions and each of the six conferences, and a minimum of four-at-large members. This committee interprets the rules, settles disputes between different UIL districts and disputes which arise past the district level, conducts investigations and hearings of alleged violations, and hears appeals.

Members of the 2019-2020 State Executive Committee

Mike Motheral, Sundown, Chair

James Colbert Jr., Superintendent, Harris County Education

Curtis Culwell, Garland

Johanna Denson, Austin, Vice Chair

Darrian Dover, Superintendent, Meadow ISD

Jodi Duron, Superintendent, Elgin ISD

Paul Galvan, Fort Worth

Gary Martel, Moody ISD

Robin Perez, Superintendent, Nederland ISD

Marshall Scott III, Superintendent, Bay City ISD

Kim Tunnell, Superintendent, Mineola ISD

Daryl Wade, Houston